Congress of the United States

Washington, D.C. 20515

April 8, 2021

The Honorable Michael S. Regan Administrator U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 1200 Pennsylvania Ave NW

Washington, DC 20460

Dear Administrator Regan,

Congratulations on your recent confirmation to serve as Administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. As members of the bipartisan House Biofuels Caucus, your work is of vital importance to us. Our districts, and the many hard-working Americans that depend on a robust biofuels industry, play a key role in working to reduce carbon emissions, while keeping America moving.

As you know, biofuels are an integral part of sound environmental policy that serves to keep and create home-grown jobs, and generates demand for American farmers. A recent report found that greenhouse gas emissions from corn ethanol are 46% lower than gasoline. The role of biofuels provides a compelling story that must be utilized to achieve carbon emission reduction goals. Biofuels producers need to be included in any climate conversation, and rural America must not be left behind.

As Administrator, we urge you to maximize the benefits the Renewable Fuel Standard (RFS), particularly given the statutory shift that requires you to determine Renewable Volumes Obligations starting in 2023 in consultation with the Secretary of Energy and the Secretary of Agriculture. We implore you to work across agencies to build on existing programs and policies and seek new opportunities that will promote growth in the usage of higher ethanol and biodiesel blends.

At your earliest convenience, the bipartisan House Biofuels Caucus would like to extend an invitation to meet with you to discuss these and other biofuels priorities.

Sincerely,

Dusty Johnson
Member of Congress

Angie Craig

Member of Congress

Rodney Davis

Member of Congress

Cindy Axne

Member of Congress

Adrian Smith

Member of Congress

Mark Pocan

Member of Congress

J. France	Vicky Hartzler	Ji Hogedon
Randy Feenstra Member of Congress	Vicki Hartzler Member of Congress	Jim Hagedorn Member of Congress
Darin LaHood Member of Congress	Don Bacon Member of Congress	Jeff Fortenberry Member of Congress
Tom Emmer Member of Congress	Sam Graves Member of Congress	Mike Bost Member of Congress
Ashley Hinson Member of Congress	Mariannette Miller-Meeks Member of Congress	James R. Baird Member of Congress
Adam Kinzinger Member of Congress	Cheri Bustos Member of Congress	Michelle Fischbach Member of Congress
7 7.		

Tracey Mann
Member of Congress